Step 13: refuse new debt

Now that those pesky cards are paid off, we need to make a promise. A refusal promise.  A promise to refuse all new debt. That’s right, if it’s not in the budget, it’s not going in the cart!

But what about emergencies?! Start an emergency savings account. Your card is retired.

Repeat after me:

I [insert your name here]

solemnly pledge

to leave my credit card zipped away in a hidden compartment of my purse

and if I can’t handle that

I will lock it away in the fire safe hidden somewhere in the apartment

I promise to refuse all new debt

and only purchase items I can afford.

Now go shake hands with your hubs and make it official!

Leave a Reply

