Step 6: learn to shop with a calculator

When I was growing up, my mom would always bring a calculator with her to the grocery store. I never knew why. I never asked why. The free samples kept me distracted.

Today, I learned why.

SHE WAS ON A BUDGET!!!

Now that I myself am on a budget, I’ve learned I can no longer just zip into the store and mindlessly toss the items I need into my cart. I need to save every penny I can.

How do I do this?

A calculator.

Example:

We need toilet paper. Grab the 6-pack for $3.99. We’re poor, right? We need to save money by only paying $4 for toilet paper, right?

WRONG!

If you whip out your handy-dandy phone calculator you will discover that the “cheaper” $4 6-pack is actually costing you 67 cents per roll.

You will actually save money, and trips to the store, by spending $13.99 on the 36-pack. (38 cents per roll!)

**NOTE: many grocery stores list price per unit right on the shelf tag. Always check here first before busting out the calc.**

And to think, if I hadn’t been mesmerized by the allure of free samples, I could have learned this at age 7.

Leave a Reply

