Step 1: educate yourself

My financial education began while standing in an outdoor pool in Phoenix, AZ during Christmas 2012. My brother inspired me. He was 22 and talking stocks, investments, and 401ks with my parents. I (the OLDER sister) sat dazed with confusion. Completely over my head. So I bought this:

9780470769058_p0_v1_s260x420

But really it just sat on my shelf until I got engaged and realized my purpose in life is to squash all our debt in only 2 years.

SO – get a similar book and then visit a lot of websites and do a lot of research.

Here are the ones that helped me the most:

www.andthenwesaved.com

www.thenester.com

www.funcheaporfree.com

www.blissfulanddomestic.com 

www.daveramsey.com 

www.consumercredit.com

Marinate in all the gory details until you feel saturated enough to make an educated plan.

(disclaimer: this may take longer than a day. As aforementioned, I’ve been marinating since Dec. 2012)

 

Leave a Reply

